Non-league: Five-star Branksome Railway cap memorable campaign

CHOO, CHOO: Micky Hubbard was on target in Branksome Railway's Robbins Cup win

CHOO, CHOO: Micky Hubbard was on target in Branksome Railway's Robbins Cup win

First published in Non league football by

BRANKSOME Railway bagged their fifth trophy of the season with a 3-1 success over Victoria Cross in the M A Hart Robbins Cup final at Hurn Bridge.

It was the third year in succession that Railway had put their name on the trophy but their Division Two opponents made them work hard for victory.

The Premier League champions probed for an opening in the early stages and took the lead after 18 minutes when midfield maestro Micky Hubbard drilled a stunning 30-yard free kick into the bottom corner.

Goalkeeper Ben Salisbury was in outstanding form for Victoria Cross, making an excellent save when Railway swept forward with a flowing move involving Phil Midson, Dan Manuel and Nathan Saxby.

The stopper then raced off his line to save bravely at Manuel’s feet after the Railway skipper had been put clean through.

But even the excellent Salisbury could not prevent Railway doubling their lead in first-half stoppage-time when the ball came across the penalty area to Phil Midson, who struck it inside the far post.

Victoria Cross began the second half in determined fashion with Aaron Carrivick drawing a brilliant save from Andy Knights.

The Division Two outfit reduced the deficit in the 50th minute when Sam Thompson capitalised on a defensive slip to stride through and slot past Knights.

Lee Cobb almost deceived Knights with a swerving shot but the Railway goalkeeper held at the second attempt before Midson restored Railway’s two-goal advantage with a wonderful 20-yard volley.

Salisbury got down well to save from Saxby when the lively wide man cut in from the left and that was how it stayed until the final whistle.

Branksome Railway: Andy Knights, Aaron Corby (Dan Blackburn, 33), Keith Whatling, Shaun Brian, Phil Ross, Micky Hubbard, Kane Andrews (Alex Grimason, 63), Phil Midson, Nathan Saxby, Tom Willis, Dan Manuel (Sean Gallagher, 78).

Victoria Cross: Ben Salisbury, Paul Giles (Toby Williams, 70), Aaron Carrivick, Kane Darbinson, Dale Hyne, Will Robinson, Martin Sault, Aaron Stacey, Lee Cobb (Luke Pidgley, 80), Sam Thompson, Steve Sault.

Comments (1)

Please log in to enable comment sorting

9:54am Mon 12 May 14

shifty035 says...

well done ian and the rest of the team great season many more to come
well done ian and the rest of the team great season many more to come shifty035
  • Score: 1

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree