PRIORY Quays etched their name in Hampshire football folklore by triumphing in the final of the Hampshire Sunday Senior Cup.

Priory got the better of Hayward Sunday Premier League rivals East Christchurch SSC, winning 3-2 on penalties after the Hurn Bridge contest had finished 1-1 after extra-time.

East Christchurch had the better of the first-half chances with Priory goalkeeper Eliot Broome twice required to make excellent saves from Max Crow, while Alan Etherton and Joe Kittle both shot wide.

It was Priory who broke the deadlock in the 40th minute when Kev Brennan glanced Danny Young’s cross past goalkeeper Gary Caller.

Kittle’s header was pushed away by Broome but the striker equalised five minutes after the break, volleying home at the far post.

Kittle was a constant threat to the Priory defence while East Christchurch were be-coming increasingly troubled by Aaron Atkinson’s pace.

There was a scare for East Christchurch in extra-time when Priory got the ball past Caller but Dan Whitehouse came to the rescue.

Pete Old created an opening for Crow but Broome denied him with a great save and the Priory goalkeeper was soon in action again, diving to his left to claw away Darren Orchard’s free kick.

Dan Seymour then broke through at the other end but Caller saved well and, with the sides level at 1-1, the game had to be decided on penalties.

East Christchurch could not have had a better start to the shoot-out when Crow slotted home their opening spot kick and goalkeeper Caller saved from Ryan O’Reilly.

But Priory’s next three attempts from Brennan, Chris Forbes and Olly Peckham were all successful and only Kittle found the net for East Christchurch.

Colin Dand stepped up to keep East Christchurch’s hopes alive, but his spot kick struck the bar.

East Christchurch SSC: Gary Caller, Dan Whitehouse, Ross Mills, Scott Orchard, Colin Dand, Max Crow, Paul Danvers, Steve Liddell (Darren Orchard, 105), Stuart Ellis (Tom Harris, 51), Alan Etherton (Pete Old, 85), Joe Kittle.

Priory Quays: Eliot Broome, Olly Peckham, Gary Hepple, Rob Hep-ple, Ryan O’Reilly, Dan Young (Karl Sibbald, 112), Kev Brennan, Dan Bartlett (Stuart Hartley, 82), Aaron Atkinson, Dan Seymour, Chris Forbes.