POOLE Town FC Wessex bounced back from their county cup disappointment to retain the town trophy thanks to a Kurtis Darby brace in a 3-1 victory over Electric in extra-time.

The 2013 Bournemouth league and cup winners dictated most the first half, taking the lead through Lewis Doddimead with smarty-taken individual goal.

Poole’s goal sparked Electric into action, but they failed to take advantage of a few one-on-one chances and missed a penalty just before the interval.

Electric, however, kept up their momentum after the break, taking the game into extra-time when Billy Cooper found James Johnston in space to fire in the equaliser.

Darby netted the first of his double early into extra-time and wrapped up the game with a long-range effort in the final few moments of the second half.

“I felt our boys’ legs went a little bit during extra-time,” said Electric’s stand-in boss Mick Cooper.

“Well done to Wessex, though, you don’t have their league and cup record over the past few seasons without being a hard nut to crack but I’m sure our boys will learn from the experience.”

Poole, who lost 1-0 to Wimborne Town in the Dorset Cup last month, will also retain their league title if they beat Corfe Mullen in their final match after Easter.

“The lads deserved their cup victory,” said assistant Poole manager Andy Hunt. “Their hard work and determination through-out the season has paid off.”

Electric manager Mark Petty and his son Adam missed the cup final because of a holiday booked before the finals day had been washed out the week before.

Electric under-12s: Tom Nicholas, Sam Hepburn, Craig John-Clement, Michael Vieira, Tyler Pearce, James Johnston, George Croucher, Billy Cooper, Nathan Roberts, Daniel Neild, Luke Butler, Reiss White, Liam Baker.

Poole Town FC Wessex under-12s: Ross Drever, Jamie Joyce, Lewis Doddimead, Gareth Love, Kurtis Darby, Charlie Shears, Lewis Musk, Louis Duckworth, Daniel Byrne, Ethan Hunt, Luca Rabaiotti, Travis Turner.