PAST winners Greenfields regained the Bournemouth cup following a nail-biting penalty shoot-out with Ringwood Town who were making their first appearance in a town final.

It is the third season in succession that Greenfields have reached the final, beating Poole Town Youth 3-1 in 2012, while losing 3-0 to Bournemouth Electric last season.

A well-organised Ringwood outfit, however, matched Greenfields in normal time and extra-time as neither team could break the deadlock at King George V Playing Fields on Sunday.

Despite having the bare 11 players, Ringwood gave a good account of themselves in their first ever flagship final.

The New Forest side have only 13 players registered to play in the cup and were up against it without Joe Till and Marek Bakula.

Both had delayed their holidays for the scheduled date on April 4 which was washed out.

Despite Ringwood’s Dorset goalkeeper Jordan Manley making two fine saves in the shoot-out they proved to be in vain as Greenfields went on to win the shoot-out 4-3.

Ringwood coach Chris Till said: “On the day, we gave everything we had and took the game to Greenfields whenever possible and created chances but were unable to give any of our players a rest which was a key factor.

“At the end the lads were exhausted but left the field with their heads held knowing they had earned respect from all who came to watch.”

Greenfields boss Adrian Chambers paid tribute to Ringwood’s efforts.

“We knew Ringwood would put in a dogged performance, which proved to be the case as they prevented us from winning in open play,” said Chambers.

“Our squad, however, stuck to its belief of playing open attractive football but couldn’t find a way through despite several good opportunities.”

Greenfields under-15s: Ben Thompson, Joshua Dark, Lewis Sainval, Tim D’Cruz, Lewis Chambers, Owen Nicholson, Danny Gunn, Kofi Anjorin, Ethan Stanislas, Morgan House, Max Hill, Ben Nichol, Adam Abo Rashed, David Bratchford, Zak Hallam, Luke Walters.

Ringwood under-15s: Jordan Manley, Tom Shorey, Laurie Smith, George Best, Marcus Cole, Tom Hopper, Harrison Clarke, Brandon Kirby, Dan Whitelaw, Asa Drodge, Charlie Hassall.