BOURNEMOUTH champions St James’ CE Primary School have a date at Wembley next month.

The under-11 boys’ team are representing AFC Bournemouth in the national event before the SkyBet Championship play-off final which attracts a crowd of 90,000.

The Cherries Community Cup winners also won the regional finals at Reading to book their place against a Bolton Wanderers representative team at the country’s national stadium on May 24.

St James will be hoping to emulate Broadstone Middle School’s under-13 team, who beat Shrewsbury’s representatives 1-0 in the final of the equivalent girls’ competition before the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy last month.

“It’s a unique achievement for the two schools and brilliant news for the Trust and the club,” said head of the AFC Bournemouth Community Sports Trust Steve Cuss Winning the Cherries competition completed the double for the St James’ team who also won the Bournemouth Primary Schools final.

St James’ team: Ryan Finnigan, Lyle Simpson, Miles Bartram, Liam Etheridge, Tarik Mannah, Callum Davis, Ethan Quarchioni, Liam Finnigan.

  •  Other successful Bournemouth primary schools were St Katherine’s Year Five and Six girls’ team and Stourfield Junior’s Year Six boys team.

St Katherine’s won the town cup before going on to win the county competition at the Sir David English Centre and will represent Dorset at the regional finals in Bristol later this month.

Stourfield Junior School’s journey to football glory began at the Year Six boys’ Predator competition in October where they were one of the top two teams to qualify for the county round.

Despite trailing 2-0 to Upton School in the final, Stourfield bounced back to win the match at Chapel Gate in December.

The Stourfield boys finished a respectable third in their group at the regional finals in Bristol last month.

St Katherine’s team: Ashleigh Noble, Eva Thomson, Holly Jones, Grace Betsford, Bethany Partridge, Emily Pardy, Lily Ragnof, Jessica Grimmer.

Stourfield team: Jay Carter, Jed Scott, Alfie Woods, Corben Elms, Jack Scannlon, Owen Miller, Josh Blandford, Josh Nace, Toby Pain, Ed Page.