NEW LOOK Pirates started the season as they mean to go on, thumping Oxford Cheetahs 61-29 as they began the defence of their BSN Series crown.

Richard Lawson yet again starred (15), as did Zach Cook with a paid maximum (11+1) from four programmed rides, but there were impressive first looks at new arrivals Tom Brennan (9+1) and Sam Hagon (10+1).

Fellow newbies Tobias Thomsen (5+1) and Max Perry (2+1) more than contributed their fair share of points as Pirates dropped just one race at Wimborne Road, skipper Ben Cook adding (9+2) on what proved to be an easy night for Poole.

Pirates debutant Tobias Thomsen briefly led the opening heat but his wide line on turn three saw him slip to third.

Poole’s number one Lawson stormed to his first heat win of the season, leading Sam Masters in second.

Young duo Hagon and Max Perry also made point-scoring debuts in race two.

Hagon kept Oxford’s Luke Killeen keen but was unable to surpass the Cheetah, Perry fending off Ashton Boughen to ensure scores were split.

Pirates’ first 5-1 of the night would arrive in heat three, Brennan beginning his Wimborne Road career with a race win ahead of second-placed Zach Cook.

Poor starts for both skipper Ben Cook and Perry looked to have cost Pirates from the gates in race four, but captain Cook managed to salvage second behind Cheetah’s Scott Nicholls.

The bumper crowd in attendance at Poole Stadium were more than enthused by Brennan’s battling display in heat five.

After Zach Cook settled into the lead, passing Masters, Brennan had to fight for second and his bonus point.

His pursuit eventually proved successful, slipping by Masters out of the first turn of the final lap.

Lawson’s strong gate at the start of heat six was enough of an advantage to keep Nicholls at bay, with Thomsen keeping Poole’s score ticking in the right direction with a point of his own.

A double overtake from Hagon and Ben Cook on Cameron Heeps in race seven turned the heat into Poole’s favour, the former going all the way to take his first win as a Pirate.

Hagon instantly returned in heat eight to pick up his second race victory.

It was simple enough for the 19-year-old, leading Killeen all the way as Thomsen once again added a point from third.

A tactical change for Cheetahs saw their number one Masters line-up alongside Wimborne Road track expert Nicholls, but it was not enough to halt Pirates.

Simultaneous overtakes saw Zach Cook overhaul Nicholls whilst Brennan nipped past Masters out of turn three, giving Poole yet another heat win.

Lawson and Thomsen returned for their third heat together, adding another race win with their first combined 5-1 as the former led the way once again in heat 10.

After showing his quality with two race wins, Hagon demonstrated both a sense of team-spirit and awareness to quickly clear the track after colliding with the air barrier in heat 11 to allow Ben Cook to take the race win.

In heat 12 Brennan left it late again to swoop in and snatch the race win.

Stalking Heeps for some time, the winter signing made his move heading into the penultimate turn, poking ahead of the Oxford rider and taking his second heat victory of the evening.

Race 13 saw wily veterans Lawson and Nicholls battling throughout, the former eventually coming out on top.

Nicholls’ battle with Lawson opened the door for captain Ben Cook, the Aussie getting into range of the Cheetah before beating his man in a photo-finish.

Pirates were in the groove to see out their emphatic victory.

Zach Cook and Hagon looked comfortable for most of heat 14, but the latter had to show his defensive chops to see off the challenge of Jordan Jenkins.

Despite picking up a paid maximum from his scheduled heats, Zach Cook was unable to add to his tally in the final heat.

Lawson was again perfect, claiming his fifth race win of the evening to begin his season with a bang.

Pirates 61 - Lawson 15, Thomsen 5+1, Brennan 9+1, Z Cook 11+1, B Cook 7+1, Hagon 10+1, Perry 2+1.

Cheetahs 29 - Masters 6+1, Atkins 0, Heeps 3, Jenkins 3, Nicholls 9, Killeen 8, Boughen 0.