WIMBORNE Athletic Club celebrated the 2023 track and field season with a presentation evening at Wimborne Town Football Club.

Winners of the South West League, retaining the title, fifth out of 24 in the Wessex Young Athletes League and making a major contribution to the composite Team Dorset, the club had just cause to roll out the red carpet.

While the core strength of the club rests with younger athletes, they are ably supported by some tried and tested performers in the older age groups.

They included Dave Pearson, who won the senior men’s title, but also took home the Les Phillips trophy for all round contribution to the life of the club, coaching, performing and officiating.

Trudi Carter won the senior women’s award and there were trophies for Kate Simmonds and Jake Roberts at the under-20 level. 

Under-17 trophies were won by Winter Stobart and Harry Jones and under-15 by Olivia Jones, with a shared boy’s trophy for Charlie Cleall and Sam Johns. 

Kayla Robins won the under-13 girl’s trophy and also took away the high jump cup and the Carol Hollins long jump trophy. 

Elliott Trickey won the boy’s under-13s title and the male sprints award having broken three club records in the year.

Also claiming three club records Ava Elliott Smith won the female sprint title.

Under-11 Quadkids Athletics is a particularly vibrant part of club life under the watchful eye of coach and team manager Paula Hine and the under-11s trophies were presented to Lani Moore and Tom Faulkner.

A special presentation remembering former coach Catherine Rawles brought the 600 metres trophy to Maisie Robbins.

The middle distance trophies were won by Tom Williams and Isla O’Connor and the steeplechase award was won by veteran Phil York. 

Cross country awards went to Ollie Rawles and Evie Fuller. Aspen Stobart won the female throws award rated number two in the country in both the under-13 discus and hammer, also winning the best female newcomer title.

Harry Jones won the best male thrower award. Harry Brooks won the Carol Hollins long jump cup and Will Langridge won the Jonathan Edwards triple jump award and the best performance award for his record breaking 13m57 at the South West Schools and his fourth place in the English Schools Championships. 

Mila Desborough won the female best performance award for her 33m 62 under-13 javelin throw, which put her at number two in the UK.

At one point in the season she and training partner Bethany Cassidy were rated first and fourth in the country. Harry Ryan had a string of successes behind him to claim the hurdles prize, strikingly because he is still only in the first year in the age group. Amy Darragh was adjudged best multi eventer of the year.

Former club marathon runner Barbara Frampton presented the best male newcomer award to her great grandson Harley Stanley.

The under-13 girls relay squad won the Hill Ford team award having broken both the club and the South West League record.

The almost ever present Millie Haynes won the Claire Bailey trophy for effort and commitment.

The highly popular Lynn Waller won the Robin Blackburn trophy for all the help and support that she has given during the year.  Finally Phil O’Connor took home the coach of the year trophy.