POOLE Town’s FA Cup run came to an abrupt end in stoppage time at Bracknell Town, with two late penalties sealing their fate in a 3-1 defeat.

Dolphins had cancelled out their hosts’ first-half lead through Portsmouth loanee Destiny Ojo, with the pulsating encounter seemingly heading to a midweek replay at Poole’s Tatnam Farm home.

However, a controversial decision to award a penalty in stoppage time gave Bracknell the lead late on, before another spot-kick sealed Dolphins’ fate.

Manager Matt Tubbs was without Billy Lowes who was again cup-tied for his earlier participation in the competition with Bashley, with winger Alefe Santos drafted in as Poole’s only change.

Both sides enjoyed half-chances in the opening stages, with Poole’s Max Evans the busier of the two keepers.

The hosts would take the lead on 34 minutes, Dolphins dealing with the initial corner but finding themselves powerless to prevent Ashley Lodge stroking home from the edge of the area.

Poole’s response would also arrive from a corner just before the break.

This time it was Bracknell who could not completely clear their lines, Ojo taking advantage during a goalmouth scramble to restore parity.

Both teams were evenly matched throughout the contest, and that proved to be the case in the second period.

Tony Lee’s effort from close range forced a good save out of Michael Eacott in the Robins’ goal around the hour mark.

Further action was consigned to the final moments, with substitute Remy Coddington clipping the outside of the post after two minutes of stoppage time.

Harvey Wright was then penalised for an apparent foul inside the area, his protestations in vain as Nana Owusu stepped up to effectively win Bracknell the game.

Lee flashed a header over the bar from Harvey Wright’s cross, before the result was put beyond doubt when another spot-kick was awarded.

This time Ben Harris stepped up to score past Evans, and secure Bracknell’s passage to the fourth and final qualifying round.

Dolphins: Evans; Rose, Whisken, Wright, Hutchinson; Santos (Coddington, 65), Fogden, Murray, Ojo (Samadi, 90); Holmes (Pardoe, 76), Lee.

Unused subs: Butler (g/k), Nippard.