WIMBORNE Athletic Club completed were again crowned champions of the South West Athletics League in recent years.

They won three out of the four 2022 fixtures, missing out to Yeovil by a narrow margin in match three.

In match four, Wimborne pushed home their advantage and won by over 400 points.

Field athletes provided the bulk of the points. Under-15 girls cornered more than their share with Lucy Lucas winning the shot with 9m27 and sprinting 13.11 for second in the 100 and winning the 200 metres in 26.85.

Newcomer Ella Reece backed Lucas up in the shot missing out on second place only on countback at 8m89.

Daisy Tyndall’s 2m05 won the pole vault and Leilani Roberts won the discus with 24m28. At under-13 level Kayla Robbins won the high jump equalling her personal best 1m35 and Olivia Jones won the shot with 7m79.

Amy Darragh was third in the under 17 long jump with 4m24 and won the discus with 21m20.

Best result on the male side was Harry Jones winning the under-15 boys javelin with 35m86 and Cadey Turner taking second place with 32m35 for a clean sweep.

Harry Jones was also third in the shot on 9m80. National silver medallist Will Langridge won the triple jump with 12m30 and also the 200 metres in 24.97. At under-17 level Jack Williams was third in the high jump with 1m70 and at senior level Phil Jones just missed out on second place in the shot on countback with 7m95.

Final Table: Wimborne 7702.5 51pts, Yeovil 6745.5 46pts, Taunton 6191 45pts, Armada 5725.5 38 pts, Newton Abbot/Torbay 5662 38pts, Poole AC 4642 28 pts, Cornwall 4442.5 28 pts, Exeter 3600 24 pts, Newquay/Par 3709.5 23pts, North Devon 2213.5 17 pts, Dorchester 1162 10pts, Poole Runners 992 8 pts, Mendip 622 8 pts.