HAMWORTHY United lifted the Wessex Premier League title after a pulsating 3-2 win over Baffins Milton Rovers at the Sunseeker International County Ground.

After securing promotion last Tuesday with a 3-1 win away at Dorset neighbours Christchurch, Hammers sealed the title with a 4-1 win away at AFC Portchester on Saturday.

The goals continued to flow as the Hammers edged past Baffins, who had kept pace with the league leaders for large swathes of the season, before falling away as the race to become champions reached its conclusion.

It appeared Hamworthy would be cruising to their 29th league win of the campaign when they took a 2-0 lead into the break.

Eddie Hodge opened scores when he pounced on a rebound after 19 minutes, before Harvey Wright headed home a Steve Devlin corner shortly before the half-time whistle.

However, it was hardly plain sailing for the champions, with Baffins aiming to spoil their celebrations in the second-half.

Rovers’ captain James Cowan produced the goal of the game when he let fly from 30-yards, with his screamer reducing the deficit to just one goal three minutes after the restart.

Harry Sargeant completed the comeback on the hour mark, with the striker arriving into the box to slot home past Shane Murphy.

Whilst the final result would have been inconsequential for the hosts, they ensured that they picked up all three points when Wright popped up in the 90th minute to grab the winner.

Hammers now have one final fixture, with Sills’ side aiming to finish their season on a high with victory against Fareham Town.

So far this campaign Fareham have scored 112 goals and conceded 96, and with Hamworthy boasting a prolific record themselves of 100 league goals, the Hammers’ final Wessex League game promises to be an entertaining send-off for the Southern League-bound side.