POOLE and Great Britain coach Barry Alldrick has been named Swim England coach of the year after the most successful 12 months in the club’s 87-year history.

The trophy was one of two he brought back from a ceremony in Birmingham, where he also collected the Para-Swimming Talent Athlete award for Bournemouth Collegiate School’s Leo McCrea, who was unable to attend.

The Poole head coach was described in the citation as a “modest and humble individual” whose “affable and decent manner garners support from swimmers and parents alike”.

“He has developed a modest local club into a nationally-recognised force and has also achieved international success,” adds the citation.

News of Alldrick’s award was relayed to swimmers on their way to the National Arena League Western Premier Division gala at Weston-super-Mare, where they came third behind perennial national finalists City of Cardiff and Millfield.

The result should see them into next month’s Western final.

Poole winners were Luca Sartorius in the 10-11yrs 50m breaststroke and freestyle, Abigail Sedwards in the 10-11yrs butterfly and Jacob Peters in the men’s 100m freestyle.

Result: 1 City of Cardiff A 260, 2 Millfield 254, 3 Poole A 173, 4 City of Cardiff B 148, 5 Nofio Sir Gar 132, 6 Rhondda 87.

Arena Southern League debutants Swim Bournemouth remain top of the Division Two West table despite three disqualifications.

They finished in the top three in 45 of the 50 events at Southampton and head into next month’s final as promotion favourites.

Amy Brown provided three of the club’s 32 wins, taking the women’s 200m individual medley and the 15/u 100m backstroke and breaststroke.

The 10-11yrs swimmers were prolific points scorers with wins from Freddie Hodgetts (50m backstroke and freestyle), Halle Harris (butterfly and freestyle), Minnie Barrett (backstroke), Jamie Workman (fly) and Eva Hourigan (breaststroke).

In the 13/u age group, Conor Cherrington won the 100m breaststroke and backstroke and Ellie Brown the girls’ backstroke and freestyle while Arief McKenna took the boys’ freestyle and Millie Sleaman and Luca Parkes recorded a girl-boy butterfly double.

Brothers Callum and Drew McGregor both recorded 100m breaststroke wins in the men’s and 15/u races, respectively.

Ella Chown added maximum points in the 15/u 100m freestyle.

Result: 1 Swim Bournemouth 354, 2 Oxford B 329, 3 Rushmoor Royals B 211, 4 Chesham 194, 5 West Wight 192, 6 Haslemere 185, 7 Alton & District 175, 8 Wey Valley 155.

Seagulls coach Martin Littlefair contributed to his club’s nine wins as they finished third in their Western League Division One gala.

He swapped his tracksuit for a swimsuit to anchor the men’s 6x50m freestyle team to victory in the final event.

Other winners included Lawrence Elliot in the 13/u 100m breaststroke and Finley Lock in the 10-11yrs 50m freestyle.

Poole B registered seven race wins on their way to fourth place in their Division One fixture.

Individual winners were Ben Cutbush in the men’s 200m IM, Abbie Quarrie in the women’s 100m breaststroke, David Smith in the 15/u 100m breaststroke and 13/u swimmers Oliver Gibbs (100m backstroke) and Ethan Hiles (100m fly).

Result: 1 Severnside Tritons 265, 2 Newton Abbot 257, 3 Devonport Royal 211, 4 Poole B 220, 5 Cirencester 196, 6 Southwold 159, 7 Bath Dolphin 82.