The Commonwealth of Nations is one of the largest international associations in the worldย with some 56 countriesย being part of it.

With the organisation playing such an important role in the UK, someย may want to learn more about it.

If you're interested in finding out more about the Commonwealth, look no further.

What is the Commonwealth and why was it founded?

The Commonwealth of Nations, more commonly known as the Commonwealth, is an international body of 56 nations.

The member nations of the Commonwealth areย overwhelmingly former territories and colonies of the British Empire.

The head of the Commonwealth is King Charles III who is also the head of state ofย 15 of the member nations.

The modern Commonwealth of Nations was constituted by the London Declaration in 1949 which established members asย "free and equal".

According to the New Zealand Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade, the organisation was formedย "to maintain an association between countries that had once been part of the British colonies."

What countries are members of the Commonwealth of Nations?

The Commonwealth states that the following countries are members of the international body:


  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Gabon
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Kingdom of Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Zambia


  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka

Caribbean and the Americas

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Lucia
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago


  • Cyprus
  • Malta
  • United Kingdom


  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Nauruย 
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

You can find out more about each member nation on the Commonwealth of Nations website.