DORSET MPs have voted to amend a policy which could see politicians banned from Parliament if arrested for sexual offences.

Following a vote on the risk-based exclusion policy amendment from the House of Commons, a majority was in favour of the change, voting 170 to 169.

It was initially proposed a risk assessment would take place on whether an MP should be barred from attending Parliament if they were arrested for serious sexual or violent offences.

However, this change has been removed and the policy will now come into effect at the point of arrest.

All Dorset MPs who cast a vote on the policy, voted against the change, including:

South Dorset MP, Richard Drax

Bournemouth East MP, Tobias Ellwood

West Dorset MP, Chris Loder

Poole MP, Sir Robert Syms

New Forest West MP, Sir Desmond Swayne

However, no vote was recorded for Bournemouth West MP Sir Conor Burns, Christchurch MP Sir Christopher Chope or Mid Dorset and North Poole MP Michael Tomlinson.