Having an old passport can make booking a quick getaway a nuisance with UK travellers having to wait ten weeks to receive a renewal from the Passport Office.

Most countries require foreign travellers to have at least six months of validity on their passports from the day they arrive in the country.

However, travel experts have revealed a number of countries that don't require this, allowing travellers with only three months left on their passport to enter the country for leisure.

With passport renewal times likely to increase as HM Passport Office workers go on strike throughout April, here are some of the countries you can go to if your passport is nearly expired.

Bournemouth Echo: (Canva) Countries like Finland and Georgia require only three months on passports (Canva) Countries like Finland and Georgia require only three months on passports (Image: Canva)

The countries that don't require 6 months validity on passports

While most of these countries and territories are safe to travel to, it is always worth checking the UK Government's foreign travel advice which can be found on the GOV.UK website.

Here are the countries you can travel to if you have less than six months left on your passport, according to the experts over at Visa Guide World.

  • Albania
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Czechia
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Honduras
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia
  • Lebanon
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Montenegro
  • Nauru
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • North Macedonia
  • Norway
  • Panama
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Senegal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Other countries require differing passport validity periods upon arrival:

  • Bermuda - 45 days upon entry
  • Eritrea - 3 months on arrival
  • Hong Kong - 3 months on arrival
  • Lebanon - 3 months on arrival
  • Macau - 3 months on arrival
  • Micronesia - 4 months on arrival
  • South Africa - 3 months on arrival
  • The Maldives - 3 months on arrival
  • Zambia - 4 months on arrival

Find out more about these countries on the UK Government website.