Four Conservative councillors at BCP Council have resigned from the group and will now be Independents.

It comes after they were rejected from selection as Conservative candidates ahead of the local elections next year.

The councillors are Steve Baron, Mohan Iyengar, Daniel Butt and Judes Butt.

Cllr Drew Mellor, leader of BCP and Conservative group leader said, “All four of these councillors are exceptional people with the deepest passion for their local communities.

"I have witnessed first-hand their level of commitment and belief in standing up for Poole and I have no doubt that they will continue to do that as independent members and ambassadors for Poole."

He said they are a "huge loss" to the Conservative family and said he was disappointed by the actions of the Poole Conservative Association "who have effectively forced these local ambassadors to leave the Conservative Group on BCP Council".

The resignations effectively mean the Conservative majority on BCP Council has been lost.

Cllr Judes Butt who represents Creekmoor said the party and Poole Conservative Association had "failed" them.

More follows.