After a five year hiatus, the annual Daily Echo School Awards, sponsored by United Taxis, have once again highlighted the incredible work taking place in schools across the area.

We received a record 733 nominations this year from grateful parents, colleagues and friends of those individuals who are making a difference to children’s lives.

Because of the quality and number of nominations, our judges had a hard time whittling down the entries to just three finalists in each category.

All those shortlisted in the eleven different categories received more than one nomination.

We are extremely grateful to our headline sponsors United Taxis.

Andy Prescott, chairman of United Taxis, said: "As suppliers of school transport for many children in the local area, we are delighted to support the Daily Echo School Awards 2022 as headline sponsors.

"These awards are testament to the incredible work that happens every day in our local schools are a great opportunity to celebrate the inspirational staff who every day go the extra mile to make education a positive experience for our children."

Those shortlisted in the awards are as follows:

Secondary Teacher of the Year:

  • Ollie Collins – Winton Academy
  • Amanda Leach - QE School
  • Oliver McVeigh – Ferndown Upper School

Further Education Award: 

  • Bob Salter – Lytchett Minster School
  • Mr Neil Kirby – QE School
  • Geoff Lake – Leaf Studio

Leadership Award:

  • James Lumber – Kingsleigh Primary School
  • Mr Ruffle – The Priory C of E School
  • Ali Carter – Courthill Infants School

Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • Alistair Brien – Bournemouth School for Girls
  • Gill Tutiett – Victoria Education Centre
  • Neil Cornick - Corfe Hills School

Newcomer of the Year Award:

  • Mrs C Clothier – Stourfield Infants School
  • Eloisa Bedford – Lytchett Minster School
  • Cory Nicholls – Corfe Hills School

Nursery School Team Member of the Year:

  • Adele Hartwell - Little Bees Nursery
  • Nicky Hayward – Lytchett Matravers pre-school
  • Stephanie Parrett – All Saints Nursery

Online Teacher/Teaching Assistant of the Year:

  • Mrs Charlotte Harris – Avonwood Primary
  • David Mastrocola – The Bourne Academy
  • Mr Vacher – St Marks Primary School

Primary School Teacher of the Year:

  • Gary Alford – Hillside First School
  • Miss Fiona Stone – Talbot House Prep School
  • Liz Gadsby – Winton Primary School

STEM Teacher of the Year:

  • Amanda Britton – Twynham School
  • Andrew McVean Glenmoor and Winton Academy
  • Clare Grimley – Avonwood Primary

Supporting Staff Member of the Year:

  • Amanda Hazell – St Marys Catholic Primary School
  • Mark Binstead – the Bourne Academy
  • Elizabeth Parkin – Winton Academy

Teaching Assistant of the Year:

  • Caroline Harper – Stourfield Infants
  • Jane Read – Baden Powell & St Peters
  • Chloe McGoldrick – Livingstone Academy

The winners of the Daily Echo School Awards 2022 will be announced in the Daily Echo on Thursday, March 31.

Tracy Hayden, advertising director at the Daily Echo, said: ‘There were so many worthy candidates to choose from and selecting the final winners was a tough decision. The Daily Echo would like to thank again the headline sponsor, United Taxis, and all the category sponsors for their support in making these awards possible.