THREE Dorset MPs voted against the extension of coronavirus laws for a further six months, as prime minister Boris Johnson suffered a rebellion of 35 Conservative MPs.

Sir Christopher Chope, Sir Robert Syms, Richard Drax all voted against extended the laws, while health secretary Matt Hancock explained some of the powers in the Act need to be renewed every six months, including measures to protect tenants and renters from eviction and to provide statutory sick pay to people throughout a period of self-isolation.

New Forest East MP, Sir Desmond Swayne, also voted against the extension.

In total, 35 Conservative MPs voted against the motion along with 21 Labour MPs.

The division list showed 305 Conservative MPs and 176 Labour MPs were among those to support it.