Boscombe Cliff regained their Section One crown by collecting 12 points in what could have been a difficult match at Ringwood. Resistance came from Ted Hangar’s rink (20-16) to earn the Foresters two points.

Russell Morgan left it to the last end to win 20-19, but the quartet of Kevin Downs, Brian Frith, Darren Clarke and Chris Martin (27-17) steered Cliff to an 84-70 victory.

Nearest challengers, Knyveton Gardens and Southbourne, went head-to-head. The Tower men came away with an 11-3 (76-73) win, but that still left them one point behind the Gardeners.

Southbourne’s top performers were Alan Elkin, Bill Smith, Keith Norman and Leon Pope (22-14), with Brian Jones grabbing a last-end 21-21 tie. Dave Baxter’s crew (23-11) were Knyveton’s only successful rink.

Alexandra Park, meanwhile, finished on a high note at West Moors. Vern Singleton, Alan Burden, Alan Miller and Mark Tomberry (26-11), and a last-end leveller from Paul King (18-18), gave Alex an 11-3 (80-62) triumph.

Branksome Park shared rinks at Lymington but, courtesy of John Warby, Peter Inge, John Pinson and Paul Tidby (40-3), the Squirrels returned home with 10 points. Ian Shiell’s 27-13 topped Lymo’s efforts.

Last year’s champions, Poole Park, ended a disappointing season with an 11-3 defeat at Meyrick Park. Colin Bingley, John Cuff, Vic Druce and Gerry Potts (24-11) put Bournemouth on course for an 11-3 (78-68) victory. Peter Willats’ quartet (19-15) were Dolphins’ only winners.

• After a five-year absence Broadstone-Wessex returned to Section One by overcoming Electric 88-85. The Sparkies fought well, especially Bob Burchell’s squad (31-13). However, Broadstone’s two winning rinks, topped by Wilf Scott, Ashley Leaper, Clive Smith and Mick Abraham (33-15), steered Wessex to a 10-4 win.

Wimborne thought that they had lost out after going down 8-6 at Boscombe Cliff, but results elsewhere saw the East Dorset club promoted and Cliff relegated. Cliff’s Wayne Foulger (32-13), earned his side an 86-80 win by covering Wimborne’s three successful rinks which were headed by Colin Shew’s squad (26-20).

Fordingbridge could only muster 10 points from their 69-58 win over Swanmore, leaving them one point short of Wimborne. Ken Lugg, Roly Ford, Mike Lugg and John Woodard (20-11) topped the Turks’ output.

Southbourne finished the campaign in fourth place after their 89-77 success over visitors Kings Park.

The hosts’ three winning rinks were headed by Alan Kent, Martin Sheppard, Barry Zabell and Huw Evans (29-15).

Pelhams, meanwhile, escaped relegation with a 13-1 win at New Milton. Pelhams relied on three low scores to win the match 81-73. The best return came from Chris Cieciura, Andy Hickisson, Colin Cox and John Watts (25-21).

• Braeside made an immediate return to Section Two after cruising to a 12-2 (113-62.5) triumph over Knyveton Gardens and picking up the Ton-Up League prize in the process. The result was never in doubt after Ian Cameron, Tony Brunt, John Phipps and Neil Rogers posted a 38-9.5 win.

Poole Park A also registered a ton and ensured promotion with a 103-61 win over Highcliffe. The Dolphins had three winning rinks, the highest being Barry Gage, Andy Richardson, Denis Fletcher and John Hobby (29-10).

Richmond Park had to settle for third spot following their 12-2 victory over Iford Bridge.

Skips Brian Devine and Eddie Gilmore shared the glory in HQ’s 86-55 triumph, both winning 27-11.

Moordown escaped relegation when defeating West Moors A 12-2. Norman Weller, Frank Sheppard, Alan Richardson and Mike Sykes (21-16) featured in Moordown’s 76-71 victory.

West Moors, though, will be relegated with Redhill Park who collected just four points when losing 74-71 to Braeside A. The top Redhill return came from Terry Horgan (22-14), with Pat Day carding a 23-14 win for Braeside.

• With the top two teams hosting the bottom two teams in Section Four, the results went true to form.

Argyll sealed promotion and the title with a 12-2 (87-58) win over visitors Ferndown. Argyll’s three winning rinks were topped by George Carrol, John Crow, Chris Hawkins and David Cleave (34-15).

Branksome Park A accompany Argyll following their four-rink victory over New Milton A. Roy Trailer, Bryan Morgan, Martin Goss and Joe Stadden (30-15) steered the Squirrels to a 100-63 victory.

Another ton came at Lakeside where Poole Park B crushed Christchurch 12-2 (100-55). The star performers for the Dolphins were Ray Pugh, Dave Dean, Stan Cocklin and Jim Stainer (29-8).

Milford-on-Sea, meanwhile, enjoyed their trip to the Purbecks and returned home with 10 points in the locker after Dave Newman, Ron West, Clive Gaby and Dave Hall (26-12) paved the way for an 85-74 win over Swanage.

• The only issue to be resolved in Section Five was to see whether Southbourne B or Highcliffe were promoted as champions. Front-runners Southbourne prevailed by edging a 12-2 (78-71) win over Boscombe Cliff B.

The Tower men’s top return came from Eddie Hind, Ivor Goodman, Jim Ford and Jim Hesford (23-15).

Highcliffe, meanwhile, finished off the season with a 10-4 victory over Ringwood A. The top guns in Highcliffe’s 78-70 win were Paul Oastler, Colin Evans, Geoff Humphreys and Stuart Lane (26-13).

With no relegation issues to worry about, Redhill Park and Lymington both relaxed and completed 12-2 away victories at Knyveton Gardens and Pelhams, respectively.

The main contribution to Redhill’s 89-55 win came from Dave Rawlings, Jim Rolfe, Brian Openshaw and John Rumball (24-8).

John Bowler, Tony Lank, Ian Pearson and Danny Watson (26-14) took star billing in Lymo’s 78-69 success at Kinson.

• Section Six trailblazers Branksome Park B secured the title with an 11-3 win over Southbourne C. Brian Cookson, Lynn Jenkins, Roger Richardson and Colin Burns laid the foundations for the Squirrels’ 90-73 victory.

Swanmore A were assured of the runners-up spot after they won 14-0 against Poole Park. Swans hit the ton, winning 101-58, thanks in the main to Dennis Barratt, Bob Coward, Mick Terry and Eric Maidment (35-12).

Argyll returned from Ferndown with 10 points in the locker, defeating the Stags 83-80. Ferndown’s Brian Roberts posted a respectable 21-10, but this was topped by Argyll’s Peter Giles, David Charles, Robert Jackson and Ben Brown (32-20).

Elsewhere, there were 10-4 wins for Kings Park A and Iford Bridge A over Wimborne B and Richmond Park A, respectively.

The top return in the Royals’ 80-74 triumph was registered by Derek Winters, Ian Macpherson, Arthur Little and Colin Colebrook (38-12).

The Minster men’s best response came from Mike Connett’s quartet (27-7).

The glory boys in Iford’s 75-70 triumph were Bob Boatsman, Mike Cooper, Cyril Gould and Colin Prosser (31-11). Wally Draper’s quartet (22-8) topped Richmond’s two winning rinks.