SOUTH West Athletic League champions Wimborne Athletic Club showed off their trophies at the annual presentation evening held at Wimborne Town FC’s New Cuthbury, writes Peter Impett.

Biggest cheers of the evening were reserved for coach of the year Dave Pearson, who also won the senior men's cup and for Paula Hine, the under-11s coach and team manager who won the senior women's cup.

Age group cups were won by Bethany Cassidy and Louis Manning (U11s), Olivia Jones and Rory Connolly (U13s), Lucy Lucas and Harry Jones (U15s), and by Amy Darragh, who also won the Clare Bailey trophy for commitment, and Harry Bunting in the under-17s and Ollie Rawles in the under-20s.

The best newcomer trophies went to Sam John and Mila Desborough.

Will Langridge won the Jonathan Edwards triple jump trophy and in an outstanding first season in the event won silver in the National Championships and was ranked third in the UK. Langridge was also awarded the male outstanding performance trophy.

Emily Shaw won the female outstanding peformance award after gaining her junior international vest for 3,000 metres, but was unable to collect her trophy as she is currently mentoring young athletes in Nepal in her gap year. Lucas Jolliffe and Elliott Trickey shared the award for long jump.

Harry Ryan was the top hurdler at the club having won the national prep schools title and every one of his races over the distance.

Harry Cleall and Josh Fricker shared the male sprint trophy in an exceptional field of athletes. They were also included in the under-13 boys relay team which broke a club record and were presented with the Hill Ford team trophy.

Kayla Robbins won best high jumper and Daisy Tyndall best pole vaulter.

Leilani Roberts won the female throws trophy competing in each of the four throws disciplines with senior Daniel Connolly winning the male trophy in his first season with the club.

Tom Jackson, again a relative newcomer to the club, won the male middle distance and steeplechase titles while Millie Haynes won the female middle distance trophy.  Jakob Roberts has had an outstanding season winning the south west octathlon and taking the club’s multi events trophy. He has now qualified for the England Athletics Youth Talent Programme.

A special feature of this year’s awards was the first presentation of the Catherine Rawles Trophy for Under-11 600 metre running. Catherine is a much missed coach of younger athletes and this award was made to Rosie Gollings who broke the club record for the distance.

Relatively new blood for the club was recognised in the work of Emma Plimmer who won the Robin Blackburn Trophy for all round support with officiating and team management and Phil York who won the prestigious Les Phillips Trophy for his major role in the life of the club.