PIRATES were left with nothing to show for their efforts after Edinburgh Monarchs’ late surge saw them win 49-41 at Armadale.

The dynamic duo of Sam Masters (13+1) and Josh Pickering (13) spearheaded the home side to all three league points, with a dramatic heat 15 meaning Poole were left licking their wounds.

Steve Worrall (11) and Danny King (10) both reached double figures on the night, but after they let the race finale slip, Gary Havelock’s side drew a blank in terms of adding to their league total.

Pirates went into the contest with refreshed averages, meaning Worrall and Drew Kemp moved to one and two in the septet.

Moving up from reserve, Kemp’s night did not get off to the best of starts in heat one.

He hit the deck on the opening bend of the second lap while in third spot, meaning he was disqualified from the re-run.

But Worrall, who was trailing Masters in the first running, popped out of gate four to take the spoils in the re-run ahead of Masters and Norwegian champion Lasse Fredriksen.

Jacob Hook took the honours in the reserves’ race ahead of Ben Cook, who dropped to number six for Pirates. Nathan Ablitt held off the challenge of his opposite number James Sarjeant to secure a point and keep the contest level.

Poole skipper King led from the gate to start his night’s work in a shared heat three before Richard Lawson and Ablitt filled the minor placings in race four behind Pickering. The scores remained level at 12-12 at the first track grade.

Worrall then showed his speed as Pirates got their noses in front in race five. Blitzing out of the gate – he left Kye Thomson for dust in second, with Kemp fending off Italian Paco Castagna for a Poole 4-2.

Ben Cook then gave it everything he could to pass fellow Aussie Masters down the back straight in race six, but after being squeezed out by the Monarchs’ number one, he and Lawson settled for the minor placings.

Edinburgh then hit back with a 4-2 of their own in heat seven. Pickering flew out of the gate and while King worked his way into second, Edinburgh’s Hook kept out Zach Cook at the back.

Poole edged two points ahead once more in heat eight with Kemp picking up the victory from the gate. Sarjeant pushed him all the way but failed to get by. Ablitt picked up another point with Fredriksen losing control at the back.

Thomson led from the gate ahead of Lawson and Ben Cook in a level race nine, before the Monarchs levelled things up with a 4-2 in race 10.

Masters led from tapes to flag for his second win of the night ahead of King. Hook saw off Ben Cook for third after team boss Havelock switched him in for brother Zach.

The hosts then went in front for the first time on the night with a 4-2 advantage in heat 11.

Pickering continued his flawless night’s work after squeezing out Worrall on the opening bend. Kemp trailed behind Sarjeant as the Scottish side moved into a 34-32 advantage.

Backed roared Poole with the first 5-1 of the meeting in race 12. Both Ben Cook and King surged out of the start to leave behind Thomson and Hook – the Poole skipper making it 10 points from four rides and putting his team ahead.

From that point on, Edinburgh turned the screw.

They hit back with a 5-1 of their own in heat 13. The deadly duo of Pickering and Masters combined from the first bend to see off the threat of Lawson and Worrall to place the hosts two points ahead.

And disaster then struck for Poole in the penultimate race as the Monarchs sealed the spoils.

Zach Cook’s miserable night ended when he lost his steel shoe and was left behind Ben Cook. Castagna and Hook combined for a 5-1 – putting Edinburgh six points in front.

Pirates’ woes were compounded as they missed out on a consolation point in the finale. After gating on a 5-1, Masters manoeuvred his way to the front past Worrall and King to seal victory.

With King slipping to the back behind Pickering, who dramatically lifted while crossing the line, the Monarchs extended to eight points their advantage – meaning Pirates were left to go home empty-handed.

Edinburgh 49: Sam Masters 13+1, Lasse Fredriksen 1+1, Kye Thomson 8, Paco Castagna 4+1, Josh Pickering 13, Jacob Hook 7+1, James Sarjeant 3.

Pirates 41: Steve Worrall 11, Drew Kemp 4, Danny King 10, Zach Cook 0, Richard Lawson 5+1, Ben Cook 8+2, Nathan Ablitt 3+2.