THE line-up for the 2022 SGB Championship has been confirmed, with Poole Pirates set to compete in the 11-team league.

The division will also include Birmingham Brummies, who have overcome initial fears they may not make it to track next year, following a successful takeover.

However, Kent Kings will not head to the tapes in 2022.

Oxford Cheetahs' spot has also been confirmed, seeing speedway return to Cowley for the first time since 2007.

Each club in the Championship will race 20 meetings in 2022, with the top six sides qualifying for the play-offs.

The Knockout Cup will also run again, however, there will also now be the chance for Poole to clinch three trophies next year.

As well as looking to retain the league title and Knockout Cup crown, Pirates will be entered into a new competition next summer.

It is set to feature a group system, with the final to be held on a neutral venue.

The Championship Pairs is also planned to return in 2022, on August 12, the night before the FIM British Grand Prix at Cardiff.

Meanwhile, the Championship League Riders' Championship is also set for a comeback, for the first time since 2019.

As well as the 11-team second tier, there will once again be just six clubs running in the Premiership.

Danny Ford, Poole Pirates' promoter, is part of a four-man British Speedway Promoters Ltd board of directors, chaired by Rob Godfrey and also including Damien Bates and Chris Louis.

Discussing the plans for 2022, Godfrey said: “British Speedway has battled through some huge challenges over the last two years and as a group we are all very much looking forward to next year and beyond.

“Despite everything thrown at the sport, there are some extremely positive aspects of it.

“The Premiership has extremely stable clubs run by astute promoters and owners and the Championship product is enhanced by the presence of Birmingham and, of course, the return of Oxford which we are delighted about.

“The new competitions in both leagues give everyone more speedway to enjoy and we hope they will be well supported.

“Once again we would like to thank everyone who has remained so loyal to British Speedway through some particularly difficult times and we look forward to taking the sport forward in the coming years.”

British Speedway 2022 Premiership: Belle Vue, Ipswich, King's Lynn, Peterborough, Sheffield, Wolverhampton.

British Speedway 2022 Championship: Berwick, Birmingham, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Leicester, Oxford, Newcastle, Plymouth, Poole, Redcar, Scunthorpe.