WIMBORNE Town have announced 10 players to have signed up ahead of the 2021-22 Southern League campaign.

Magpies have not played competitively since October 2020, due to grassroots football being shut down due to the coronavirus pandemic.

But plans are now well underway for the new season to begin in August.

And boss James Stokoe has made moves to get his squad prepared, with 10 players committing to Wimborne.

Former Cherries defender Dan Strugnell was the first name confirmed for the squad, quickly followed by Callum Chugg.

Midfielder Jamie Henry has also returned for next season, alongside Charlie Gunson.

Curtis Young has been signed up again, as has young forward Aidan Shepherd.

Experienced Scott Arnold is also part of the 10.

Josh Hanratty has been snapped up, alongside Connal Morrison and Harry Morgan.

Meanwhile, fellow Southern Premier South side Poole Town have announced three pre-season fixtures.

Tom Killick's Dolphins will battle Merley Cobham away on Friday, July 9.

A trip to Blandford School to face Shaftesbury Town, now managed by Ollie Cherrett, will follow on Tuesday, July 13 on the 3G pitch.

The final confirmed fixture is also away, at Winchester City on Saturday, July 17.

Poole and Wimborne will both be part of a 21-team Southern Premier South, after club allocations were confirmed by the FA for the 2021-22 season.

Southern Premier South line-up: Beaconsfield Town, Chesham United, Dorchester Town, Farnborough, Gosport Borough, Harrow Borough, Hartley Wintney, Hayes & Yeading United, Hendon, Merthyr Town, Metropolitan Police, Poole Town, Salisbury, Swindon Supermarine, Taunton Town, Tiverton Town, Truro City, Walton Casuals, Weston-super-Mare, Wimborne Town, Yate Town.