BOSS Jonathan Woodgate said it was “fully deserved” to see Asmir Begovic and Arnaut Danjuma in the Championship team of the season – but felt a couple of other Cherries names should have made the cut.

Danjuma has been in scintillating form during his second season at Cherries.

The Dutchman tops the club's scoring charts with 15 goals, which began with a fine opening-day winner against Blackburn.

The 24-year-old has shone in front of goal in recent weeks, with nine in his past 13 appearances, including a stunning strike in victory over leaders Norwich.

Following loan spells at Qarabag and AC Milan last season, keeper Begovic has returned and made the number one shirt his own this campaign.

The former Chelsea stopper has kept 15 clean sheets so far, missing just one league game to help propel Cherries into the play-offs.

The full selection was revealed at last week’s EFL awards ceremony.

“Absolutely fully deserved for the pair of them,” said Woodgate, when asked for his reaction to the duo’s inclusion.

“I thought we’d have had a couple more in to be honest with you.

“I don’t need to name those names but I think you’ll know who I’m talking about by how good they have been since I have been there.

“But full credit to Arnie, he’s scored some incredible goals, assisted. He’s working hard for the team.

“And Asmir, as well, is Mr Consistent.

“You know what you are going to get - that’s what I like – to know what you’re going to get from a keeper. That’s exactly the same with Asmir.”

Both players also took to social media after being awarded the accolades.

Begovic posted on Twitter: “Delighted to be named in the team of the year. Plenty of work left to be done!”

Dutchman Danjuma added: “Great to be involved in the EFL Team Of The Season ‘21. But I’m not done yet, let’s finish the season strong.”

Both players are set to play key roles as Cherries head into the Championship play-offs, following Saturday’s regular season finale at home to Stoke.

Cherries’ first play-off semi-final will take place on May 17.

Championship team of the season: Begovic (Cherries); Aarons (Norwich), Morrison (Cardiff), Hanley (Norwich), Masina (Watford); Buendia (Norwich), Mowatt (Barnsley), Olise (Reading), Danjuma (Cherries); Pukki (Norwich), Toney (Brentford).