POOLE Comets kept their sensational unbeaten run alive with a commanding 97-80 win at Leicester - thanks to a faultless five-race 20-point maximum from Ben Mould.

The Poole side never looked like losing, with a Comets rider first past the post in 12 of the 18 races as their Midlands rivals struggled to stay in touch.

Comets took control of the contest from the outset, winning the opening three races to open up an 18-11 lead.

They stretched further their advantage in heat four when Matt Mildon and Ben Donahue teamed up for a maximum-heat win.

Nicky Whitehead stopped the rot to give the home side their first heat winner in the following race.

But Mould continued to dominate by winning heat seven and, with the points shared in the other four races, Poole led 51-38 by the interval.

Leicester opened the second half with a rare race win but a maximum-heat triumph from Donahue and Bristowe then put the visitors even further ahead.

Mould sped home for his fourth race win in heat 14 with team-mate Jay Briggs taking second place to put the match result further from the home side’s grasp.

Nathan Goulden wrapped up the match for Comets with a fine win in the following race.

Comets then gifted the home side their only race advantage of the match when Mildon was excluded in heat 16 - the only time a Poole rider failed to score.

Mould won his final race to complete a superb maximum, much to the delight of team manager Colin Sutton.

“It was another good all-round team showing,” he said. “Ben Mould was in outstanding form but the rest of the side gave 100 per cent every time they went out on track.”

Comets will be hoping to continue their impressive form on Sunday when they take on Exeter at Poole’s Harbourside Park Raceway (2pm).

Comets: Ben Mould 20, Matt Mildon 15, Wil Bristowe 14, Ben Donahue 13, Jay Briggs 10, Nathan Goulden 9, Kyran Yeatman 8. Fraser Garnett 5, Macie Schmidt 3.