DEFENDING champions Poole and past champions Swim Bournemouth both made a flying start to their 2018 Southern Junior League campaigns with convincing victories in their opening galas.

Swim Bournemouth A dropped only one point at Dorchester, recording 48 wins and one second place in the 49-race programme.

Poole were almost as dominant with 39 wins and six second places at Weymouth, where Swim Bournemouth B were second.

Keynsham and 2016 champions Plymouth Leander won the other two first round galas.

Swim Bournemouth coach Sam Woodward said he was delighted with the efforts by both A and B teams.

“I was very pleased with the level of skill from both teams as well an awesome team spirit all round,” he said.

“For us, this was all about racing and having fun, and I am happy to say that is exactly what both our teams did.”

Caleb Stuhlmacher was Poole’s leading points scorer with an involvement in six of the 39 wins.

He won the 9yrs 50m freestyle and 25m butterfly, stepped up an age group to win the 10/u 50m fly and shared in three relay wins.

His efforts contributed to a Poole clean sweep of the 9yrs events.

Christopher Bernal Mezetti added victories in the 9yrs 50m breaststroke and backstroke while Lottie Vavasour won the same events for girls.

Maximum points also went to Grace Montague in the 9yrs 50m freestyle, Evalyn Hunt in the 25m butterfly and all four 9yrs relay teams.

In the 10/u girls’ events, Jessica Huggins won the 50m butterfly and Isla O’Connor the 50m freestyle.

Claire Stuhlmacher was another double winner, taking the 11/u 50m butterfly and freestyle.

In the same age group for boys, Luca Sartorius won the 50m freestyle and breaststroke and Arron Hopkins the 50m butterfly.

Poole’s 12/u swimmers also won all 12 of their events including all four relays.

In the individuals, Molly Goddard won the 50m freestyle and backstroke, Betsy Vavasour the 50m fly and Holly Chandler the 50m breaststroke.

For the boys, Max Looker won the 12/u 50m fly and breaststroke, Charlie Meek the 50m freestyle and Zack Studley the 50m backstroke.

Poole start the campaign as defending champions after being awarded their first title amid chaos and confusion last autumn.

Swim Bournemouth were originally declared champions at the Bristol final only later to be deducted the eight points scored by an unregistered swimmer.

The deduction left them level with Poole with 214 points each but officials then docked five more points.

Swim Bournemouth lodged a protest and both teams swam in the national semi-final at Nuneaton pending a resolution.

Poole were eventually declared champions a month after the Bristol final.

2018 first round results:

At Weymouth: 1 Poole 227, 2 Swim Bournemouth B 157, 3 Tornadoes of South Dorset 120, 4 Weymouth 112, 5 Yeovil 106.

At Dorchester: Points not yet available.