JACOB Peters led the record-breaking as the Dorset Championship got under way at Littledown – and the Poole flier proved he is not just a butterfly swimmer.

Two months before making his Commonwealth Games debut, the 17-year-old smashed the Dorset senior short-course records for the 100m and 400m individual medley.

He won the 100m in 58.91, slicing 0.76sec off a standard set 10 years ago by Ferndown Otters’ Dominic Macdonald. In the 400m IM, Peters carved three seconds off his own record with 4:34.17.

In more familiar territory, the Swim England champion also won the 50m and 200m butterfly in 24.95 and 1:58.71 and lowered fellow international Jay Lelliott’s senior competition best time (CBT) to 24.80 in the 50m heats.

Bournemouth Collegiate School’s (BCS) Kayla van der Merwe was also in record-breaking form as she defended her 50m and 100m breaststroke titles as well as winning the 100m IM.

Her winning 100m time of 1:09.48 took almost a second off the Dorset junior record set in 2000 by former ASA national champion Charlotte Evans of Bournemouth Dolphins.

Poole’s Emily Clarke made a brief return from Loughborough University to win the rarely swum girls’ 1500m freestyle in 16:41.02, slashing 23 seconds off the county mark held by Dolphins’ Danielle Francis since 2008.

Swim Bournemouth’s Alex Palotai-Avella won the junior gold in a 14yrs CBT of 17:36.52.

BCS’s Ella Chown made five podium visits after winning the senior and junior 50m and 200m butterfly and junior 200m freestyle.

Her 200m fly time of 2:20.38 knocked four seconds off the 15yrs CBT, held since 1992 by Ferndown’s former British butterfly champion Sam Greenep.

Swim Bournemouth’s McGregor brothers registered a breaststroke double with Callum winning the senior 100m final and younger sibling Drew taking the junior title to add to his junior 100m IM gold.

The 50m breaststroke produced a double for Poole with Kelvin Wong and Alan Szczasiuk winning senior and junior titles, respectively, Szczasiuk in a 13-14yrs CBT of 31.59.

Swim Bournemouth’s Amy Brown won the senior and junior 400m IM as well as four other junior golds – in the 50m and 100m breaststroke, 200m backstroke and 100m IM.

Her 100m breaststroke time of 1:13.06 broke former national age group champion Naomi Vides’s 14yrs CBT.

Seagulls achieved a podium double in the men’s 800m freestyle, James Richardson winning the senior title in a 16yrs CBT of 8:54.30 and Sonny Chamberlain-Hyde topping the junior honours after earlier becoming junior champion in the 200m backstroke.

Seagulls’ Miles Ward was junior champion in the 200m butterfly and 400m IM.

The men’s 200m backstroke title went to Poole’s Henry Bramwell-Reeks with the equivalent women’s gold going to Honor Davies of BCS.

Poole’s Thea O’Keefe won the women’s 200m freestyle with the men’s title going to Tornadoes’ Josh Frampton and the junior boys’ gold to Dan Kingman of West Dorset.