IAN Sanderson and the team of Luke and Emma McEwen emerged victorious in a dramatic end to Royal Lymington Yacht Club’s Monday evening dinghy series.

With little to choose between the frontrunners in the medium and fast fleets ahead of the final showdown, the challengers knew that one last race win would be enough to take the top prize.

Sanderson’s uncharacteristically conservative approach in the medium fleet looked like it could prove costly as Chris Baldwick (Laser) and Richard Russell and Julie Willis (Tasar) made flying starts.

But Sanderson made the most of his downwind speed in the Blaze to win by a mere 30 seconds on corrected times, enough to hold the edge over the team of Mark Barwell and Lou Johnson (Merlin Rocket).

The fast fleet race was dominated by the trapeze boats with the strong breeze aiding their cause.

Series leaders Rob and Jan Martin (RS400) took pole position at the start but the McEwens (RS800) gained an early advantage by hoisting their spinnaker in the light winds left behind the incoming ferry and held out to take the race and series.

John Levell and Steve Homewood narrowly beat the Martins to second place on corrected time as the wind died at the finish.

In the Slow fleet, Henry Collison (Tera) made the best start ahead of Jonny Tait (Laser 4.7) and George Overton (Tera), positions they held on corrected time to the finish.

In the Scows, Karl Thorne (Wild Rose) grabbed the third place he needed to win the overall class four series. Mike Urwin (Nutshell) finished first ahead of Ollie Tait and James Eady (Whimseysailed).

  • Steve Waite kicked off Highcliffe Sailing Club’s Autumn Series in style with storming starts paving the way for a pair of race wins.

Light winds between seven and 10 knots greeted the 12 boats with Waite (Solo) charging in front of Kev Chapman and Matt Bates (RS400), who fought back to cross the line first but Waite took the honours on corrected times.

Waite then defied inferior sail power to take the second race.

  • Highcliffe’s Harbour Summer Points Series drew to a close with Ian Pike and Sally Perry (Comet Duo) taking the series.

Tania Tarrant (Laser) and Mark Sharman (Laser)took the race wins but neither could topple the top dogs.