WITH Boscombe Cliff already proclaimed as Section One champions, attention switched to the basement battle.

For the second year in a row, Broadstone-Wessex performed a last-day Houdini act by defeating fellow strugglers Wimborne 12-2 (88-72), a result that consigned the Minstermen to Section Two.

The top performers for the Wessex club were Frank Ditchfield, Wilf Scott, Keith Michael and Trevor Smyth (24-16).

The spotlight was also on Ringwood where Alexandra Park needed a big win to avoid the drop.

Paul King’s quartet (17-20) gained a last-end 78-77 win for Alex after Vern Singleton, Eric Simon, Dave Baxter and Mike Stapleton (24-12) had covered Ringwood’s winning skips Derek Faulkner (20-17), Peter Ward (24-19) and Rob Huggett (21-18).

Alas, despite collecting eight points, Alex were relegated alongside Wimborne.

Boscombe Cliff’s Darren Clarke (32-17) set the pace with a hotshot on the first end in their match at Poole Park.

Chris Daniels’s squad (31-14) took top honours as the Cliff eased to a comfortable 12-2 (103-72) win.

There were also 12 points for Southbourne who secured the runners-up spot with a 92-71 success at Fordingbridge.

Top for the Towermen were Graham White, Mike ‘Concord’ Newton, Dave McKenna and Brian Jones (28-13).

Knyveton Gardens finished a respectable fourth after their victory over hosts Poole Park A. The Gardeners clocked up a 101-56 winning tally after cutting loose young guns Lloyd Hemming (34-14) and Adam Broom (26-7). The old guard led by Jim Flexman (27-13) completed a 12-point haul for the visitors.

Champions Bournemouth rounded off a successful season with a 12-2 (82-69) home win over Braeside in Section Two.

Colin Bingley, Peter Shearing, Bill Belcher and Terry Chivers (29-16) helped preserve the Marauders’ winning run.

There was disappointment for West Moors who missed out on promotion by one point following their 94-70 defeat at Boscombe Cliff.

With rinks shared, the massive 37-12 return by Malcolm Perkins, Colin Prosser, Roy Lock and Keith Varley denied the Moors the points that they required.

However, there was jubilation for New Milton who returned from Highcliffe with 13 points to secure a place in the top tier next season.

Brian Gordon, Roy Nicholl, Tony Read and John Nibloe (34-3) contributed most to Milton’s 96-52 winning tally. Stan Patch (19-19) denied the visitors a full house.

Lymington avoided relegation by taking advantage of Swanmore’s dismal home record. The Swans were in with a chance after George Smith checked-in with a 34-12 win.

However, Lymo skips Ken Streek (30-11) and Viv Bailey (27-11) countered to give them a 10-4 (86-76) victory.

This, allied to a 12-2 defeat by visitors Branksome Park, sealed Southbourne’s fate and they accompanied Highcliffe through the trapdoor.

A late flourish, sparked by John Warby, Peter Inge, Ray Gollop and Bob Harris (24-16), saw the Squirrels emerge as 82-76 winners.

After five years of knocking on the door to Section Two, Knyveton Gardens finally gained entry. They secured the Section Three title with a 14-0 (122-51) triumph over Kings Park.

The Gardeners' four winning skips were Ian Davies (36-9), Dennis Moss (34-7), John Blair (28-20) and Chris Hollier (24-15).

Pelhams secured the second promotion spot by overcoming visitors Milford-on-Sea 12-2 (74-53). Cyril Lee, Jim Widdicombe, Brian Cox and captain John Eldridge (23-13) top scored for the Kinson club.

There was huge disappointment for Iford Bridge, however, who had to settle for third spot, one point behind Pelhams, despite their 12-2 (81-77) win at Branksome Park.

Iford’s three winning rinks, headed by Dave Webb, Colin Rattue, Roger Lawrence and Colin Lakey (23-20), just covered Branksome’s successful skip Chris Harding (31-18).

There was a close match at the Broadway where Electric’s only winners Rob Burchell, Micky Fay, Barrie Blake and Ray Cooke (26-8) covered Argyll’s three winning rinks to edge an 8-6 (80-79) victory for the Sparkies.

There was a return ticket for Swanage who were relegated along with Kings Park.

The Purbeck men shared rinks at Braeside. However, a 33-10 return from Mike Beard, Brian Hacker, Dave Smith and Alan Watts proved to be the match-winner as the Carpetbaggers emerged with an 89-69 winning tally.

In what turned out to be the Section Four title decider, hosts Moordown donned the crown following their 78-71 win over nearest rivals Richmond Park.

The main men for Moordown were Bill Humphrey, Brian Lolley, Franks Shepherd and Gary Menday (30-10). With two winning rinks, HQ secured the other promotion spot.

New Milton took all 14 points when crushing already-relegated Highcliffe 114-47. Bob Shepperdley, Dennis James, Keith Young and David Grant (35-10) topped Milton’s successful rinks.

Wimborne moved clear of the drop zone after taking 10 points from their 89-71 win over Knyveton Gardens.

Redhill Park finished in the bottom two despite crushing Broadstone-Wessex 14-0. Doug Horne, Roger Luscombe, Mike Smith and Terry Horgan (29-8) paved the way for the Rangers’ 92-59 victory.

It may be the end of an era for Christchurch who were founded in 1925. They will decide at their AGM in November whether to carry on. This, subject to a B&D ruling, could be an escape route for Redhill Park.

The Priorites finished in a blaze of glory by defeating Poole Park 12-2 (83.75-73), thanks in the main to the efforts of Bob McMillan, Tony Connor and Mike Poore (21.75-15).

West Moors took the Section Five champions crown following their 12-2 (92-75) home win over Ferndown. Once again, the glory boys were Brian Burton, David Sibley, Derek Warner and Ken Hoare (25-8).

There was dismay for Argyll who missed promotion by one point following their 12-2 defeat by visitors Southbourne. Towermen Bob Pardy, John Matthews, Richard Thompson and Larry Cox (29-12) were Argyll’s nemesis.

In contrast, there was joy for Ringwood, who snatched the second promotion spot by extending their winning sequence to 10 with a 10-4 triumph over hosts Boscombe Cliff. In fine fettle for the Foresters were Denis Seymour, David Lewis, Ken Wyatt and Brian Tester (25-10).

The bottom two Branksome Park and Iford Bridge went face to face at the Bridge. With Iford already relegated, the Squirrels won 10-4 hoping to go above Redhill Park.

However, the Rangers also picked up 10 points with a victory at Lymington. Here, as in Section four, the B&D decision could save Branksome Park.

There was another twist in the tail in Section Six as Ferndown, needing a solid win, confronted champions Poole Park.

Going into the last end of the match, the Stags were leading 87-85 thanks to a 28-12 return from Len Hughes, Alan Bradford, Colin Procter and Peter Dodd. Then, like a dagger to the heart, Dolphins’ Ernie Kendrick (32-16) picked up two shots to share the spoils 7-7.

It left the door open for Bournemouth who shared rinks with hosts Southbourne. Big returns by Ralph Johns (28-17) and Bert Mitchell (23-13) secured 10 points and promotion by one point for the Marauders.

Elsewhere, there were 14-0 victories for Swanmore and Milford-on-Sea over West Moors and Pelhams respectively.