THE elections have not yet taken place but residents in Mudeford and Friars Cliff already know who their councillors are.

The ward has three councillors and as only three valid nominations papers were received by the end of the nomination period, those three people have been declared as ward councillors.

They are Claire Bath, Mike Duckworth and Trevor Watts, all Conservative Party candidates.

Mike Duckworth has been a councillor in the ward since May 2003 and the other two candidates replace Josephine Spencer and Eric Spreadbury, both of whom have retired.

Voters are still being encouraged to attend the polling stations to vote in the referendum for the alternative vote.

And in all other wards in Christchurch polling stations will be open from 7am-10pm on May 5.

Votes for the local elections will be counted from 10pm at Two Riversmeet Leisure Centre with results due around 2am on May 6.

Votes for the AV referendum will be counted again at Two Riversmeet from 4pm on May 6 with results by 7pm.

Parish councillors for Burton and Hurn Parish councils have also been declared as these seats were also uncontested.

Burton Parish councillors are Tony Bemister, David Flagg, Helen Gwinnett, Colin Jamieson, Judy Jamieson and Graham Richards.

Hurn parish councillors are Anne Colmer, Ian Evans, Yvette Greatrex, Harvey Greenman, Jenni Jones and Margaret Phipps.