THE Daily Echo received hundreds of nominations from our readers for this year’s Proud to Care Awards in association with BCP Council.

Three judges have now produced a shortlist for each of the thirteen categories and one of our judges told us: “Once again we were inundated with entries from the general public and it was heart-warming to see such a great show of support for people who have worked tirelessly throughout the pandemic.”

Cllr Karen Rampton, another of our judges, said: “What a fantastic range of nominations and so hard to shortlist and choose winners as everyone deserves recognition for all they do, every day, to care and support others.

“It is easy to take for granted the amazing people who volunteer, care for family and friends or make care work their career but they make a difference every day to someone’s life and I am immensely proud and in awe of them.”

Phil Hornsby, director of commissioning for people T BCP Council, was equally impressed with the nominees. “Thank you all and congratulations to the winners,” he said.

2021 shortlisted nominees:

Residential/Nursing Care Home of the Year in association with the Daily Echo

Primrose Lodge

Highcliffe Nursing Home

St Annes Residential/Nursing Care


Home Worker in association with Hotel Miramar

Jessica Brolen

Rob Paton

Paula Arteaga



Special Recognition Award in association with Kingsley Healthcare

Community Action Network

Specialist Palliative Care Team

WCN Care Staff Team


Home Care Worker of the Year in association with Ableworld

Julie Drysdale

Gabriela Danila

Diane Fawdrey


Learning Disability and/or Autism Support Worker in association with PBS

Andrew Rhodes

Chantel Hicks

Dawn Salmon


Mental Health Services Award in association with BCP Council

Community Front Room

Norbert Puscas


Excellence in Dementia Care Award in association with Care UK

Debbie Muspratt

Acorn Care Home

Lorren Nolan


Palliative Care Worker of the Year in association with United Taxis

Eva Pearce

Kathy Lett

Tina Stacey


Family or Friend Carer of the Year in association with the Daily Echo

Brooke Crotty

Miles Hitchen

Sam Nolan


Voluntary or Community Award in association with BMI The Harbour Hospital

Wessex Cancer Trust

Gimmie A Break

UHD Volunteers


New Care Worker of the Year in association with the College

Christine Brookes

Ian Parker

Lucy Jenkins


Long Service Award in association with Goadsby

Volga Lyons

Ann Lamb

Dave Austin


Home Care Provider of the Year

Anna Care Home

Care Dynamics

Christchurch Care


The winners for the Proud to Care Awards will be announced in the Daily Echo on Thursday, December 9, in print and online.