THE top performers in the hotel community were honoured at the first BH Area Hospitality Area Hospitality Association (BAHA) Recognition Awards.

More than 200 hoteliers, B&B owners and sponsors were at the Marsham Court Hotel in Bournemouth for the ceremony.

Association chair Tim Seward said: “These, the very first BH Area Hospitality Association Recognition Awards, gave us the chance to celebrate together, after what has been an extremely challenging 18 months.

“The evening was a great celebration for hotel teams.

“Although not everyone could be a winner, I want to say well done to every single staff member across every hotel for all they do to look after our guests as they visit Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole.”

BAHA received more than 140 nominations from owners, directors and general managers.

Cllr Mohan Iyengar, BCP Council cabinet member for tourism, leisure and culture, said: “At the start of this year we were determined in the council to make this a positive ‘bounce back’ year and we know this positive belief was shared in BAHA and tourism, culture and leisure in general.

“Without your leadership, drive and belief, this year wouldn’t have happened like it has. The people in this room have overcome countless difficulties and improvised solutions to sometimes unique problems.

“We like to say that our three towns represent the ‘premier resort in the UK’. I think that claim is now stronger than ever.”

The awards were hosted by Mark Rush Palmer from Hot Radio, with entertainment from Jack Rideout and Deviation Dance Family. The main evnet sponsor was Expedia and the event was supported by Bournemouth Coastal BID.

Winners were as follows.

Bournemouth and Poole College Student Award (sponsor: Expedia): Abi Watkins.

Bournemouth University Student Award (Expedia): Gillian Casson.

Reception Award (Golden Tours): Holiday Inn – Kamile Kavaliauskaite. Runners-up: Green House Hotel – Alex Vladulescu; Marriott Hotel – Rebecca Gleaves; Mayfair Hotel – Mark Cadey.

Housekeeping Award (BCHA): Suncliff Hotel – Pauline Gill. Runners-up: Captain’s Club Hotel – Anastasia Kent; Holiday Inn – Dorota Gornik; Cumberland Hotel – Susanna Tiago.

Chef Award (County Foods): Norfolk Royale – Philip Burt. Runners-up: Holiday Inn – Chiara Fabiani; Trouville Hotel – Jamie Carpenter; Captain’s Club – Mohammed Sabir.

Kitchen Porter Award (BCHA): Hermitage Hotel – David Bleach.

Spa/Pool Award (Poppies Florist): Captain’s Club – Ryka Schuster.

Bar Award (Smugglers Cove Adventure Golf): Christchurch Harbour Hotel – Sergej Sumilo. Runners-up: Cumberland Hotel – Michael Teodor Pawelczyk; Cumberland Hotel – Chiara Sansovin.

Waiter/Waitress Award (Cater Elite): Ocean Beach Hotel – Weronika Koszalka. Runners-up: Marsham Court Hotel – Rebeka Palmai; Norfolk Royale – Pacha Banyasz.

HR/Admin/Accounts Award (The Clinic@78): Marriott Bournemouth – Levert Chakabvapasi. Runners-up: Marsham Court Hotel – Terri Ann Drury; Orchid Hotel – Debbie Gunn.

Sales/Events Award (A-One Insurance): Mercure Queens Hotel – Silva Bala. Runners-up: Oceana Hotels/Suncliff – Brian Robbins; Oceana Hotels/Suncliff – Lisa Dowdall-Sousa; Cumberland Hotel/Oceana Hotel – Eugenia Chernysheva.

Reservations Manager/Supervisor (Taylor Made Designs): Oceana Hotel – Emma Coleman. Runners-up: Hotel Miramar – Simeon Yakimov; Oceana Hotel – Dale Clark; Holiday Inn – Iwona Koziol.

Deputy/Operations Manager Award (Bournemouth University): Christchurch Harbour Hotel – Richard Sidaway. Runners-up: Cumberland Hotel – Romeo Andrei Stan; Bournemouth Westcliff – Kimberley Doolan.

Assistant/Duty Manager Award (SP Safety Consultancy Ltd): Holiday Inn – Sara Pereira. Runners-up: Trouville Hotel – Dominic Kieran Morrant; Holiday Inn – Bettina Laszlo.

Maintenance Award (Waste Management Facilities): Cumberland Hotel – Andrei Klopau. Runners-up: Savoy Hotel – Juan Ortego Moreno; Marriott Bournemouth – John Marsh.

Bed & Breakfast/Guest House Award (Bournemouth & Poole College): Amarillo Hotel. Runners-up: Chelsea Hotel, Cliff House Hotel.

Rising Star Award (Dorset Police Hotel Watch): Ibis Styles Hotel – Carlo De Rosa. Runners-up: Oceana Hotel – Adriana Tirim; Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa – Susanna Di Sipio.

Judges Choice Award (BAHA), joint winners: Marriott Bournemouth – Ian Gallanders; Marsham Court Hotel – Graeme Tilley. Runners-up: Orchid Hotel – Natalie Jordon.

Exceptional Customer Service (Yellow Buses): Captain’s Club Hotel – Niloofar Hoy. Runners-up: Ocean Beach Hotel & Spa – Mark Ehlert; Ibis Styles Hotel – Renato Gatti.