VERSATILE driver Norman Cutler picked-up a hat-trick of silverware at the Bournemouth and District Car Club Annual Awards - including the title of top all-rounder.

Cutler amassed the most points thanks to his regular appearances and diversity behind the wheel and, although he failed to win any of the categories outright, he did finish second in the Autocross category to Derek Hill and third in the Stage Rally Driver line-up behind top points scorer Gary Hayter and runner-up Simon Andrew.

The second step on the all-rounders' podium fell to the club's most successful driver of the year, Graham Dance, who had previously been better known as a navigator.

Dance headed the Road Rally Driver listings (finishing just ahead of his father Rob Dance and Simon Andrew) as well as the Road Rally Navigator category (clear of Barry Palmer and Kathy Andrew) and added to that the under-18 championship where he out-scored Leanne Harvey and David Nuth.

Third in the all-rounders went to the ever-present Steve Candy who also topped the Autotest entrants ahead of Mike Stewart and Colin Stewart.

Candy added second in the Speed Challenge after finishing behind father Peter who himself was presented with the Best of Bournemouth and District Car Club title.

The top female was Leanne Harvey who also took home second place in the Stage Rally Co-Driver category behind Kathy Andrew. This was a reversal of the overall positions where Andrew was second (she was also third in the Road Rally Navigator section) with Sylvia Candy in third.

Other award winners were: Vic Fancy (President's Cup), Tim Walker (Chairman's Cup), Bob Bailey (Member's Member), Jannine and Darren Loveys (Best Organisers), Andy Hornsby and Steve Hunt (Best Newcomers and winners of the Poti Challenge) and Alan Spratt (Best Service Crew).

  • The first opportunity for Bournemouth and District Car Club members to start collecting points for the 2008 championship comes on January 1 when the club hosts its popular New Year's Autotest - this year's venue being the car park.