DETAILS have been revealed about the £2million makeover of a village pub – and it will be renamed in tribute to a heralded poet who lived in the area.

Firm Fuller's are set to open The Bear of Burton next month following an extensive refurbishment project.

The venue in Salisbury Road, which was formerly known as The Manor, has been given its new name in tribute to Robert Southey, author of Goldilocks and the Three Bears.

Mr Southey lived in Burton between 1799 and 1805.

The pub will also have 10 bedroom and provide "delicious, fresh-cooked food at its heart" according to Fuller's.

A statement from the company said: "The food offering will be at the heart of the pub, serving breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner.

"All dishes at The Bear of Burton will be freshly prepared by the team of talented chefs who will cook all dishes from scratch with passion and care using an abundance of fresh, locally sourced produce.

"The menu will reflect the seasons and the specials will change daily, so that foodies can experience an array of delicious dishes.

"The 10 beautiful bedrooms will all be named after local woods and the design will have subtle nods towards the Goldilocks and the Three Bears story.

"Guests can expect the same quality of experience in the hotel, with every detail in the rooms carefully considered, including 1600 pocket sprung mattresses for an incredible night’s sleep and Nespresso machines and Roberts radios enabling guests to feel at home."