WIMBORNE and Bashley will stage prestigious T20 matches during the coming season as Dorset take their chance in a new Minor Counties competition.

The Unicorns T20 will see each county play eight games, comprising four double-headers against the same opposition on the same day.

Dorset open their campaign by hosting Wiltshire at Bashley on Sunday, May 6 with matches starting at noon and 4pm.

They then face Devon at Sidmouth on Monday, May 6 (noon and 4pm) before entertaining Wales at Wimborne's headquarters at the Leaze on Sunday, May 27 (12.30pm and 4.30pm).

Their final group matches are against Cornwall at St Austell on Sunday, June 3 (12.30pm and 4.30pm), with the group winners qualifying for finals day at Wormsley On Sunday, August 26.

The new-look T20 will run alongside the Unicorns Knockout Trophy, which will become a straight elimination competition rather than played in groups.

Dorset, who finished third in Group One last season, will host Cornwall at North Perrott in the first round on Sunday, April 29 (11am) with the winners travelling to Berkshire in the quarter-finals on Sunday, May 20.

Third in the Western Division last season, Dorset will start their three-day Unicorn Championship programme against Wiltshire at Sherborne School on Sunday, June 24.

They then visit Oxfordshire and Cheshire before hosting Shropshire at Chapel Gate in August. Following a trip to Devon, Dorset complete their campaign against Berkshire at North Perrott in early September.

Dorset fixtures


Sunday, April 8 – Wiltshire T20 (South Wilts, 11am).

Saturday, April 14 – Bashley and Havant T20 (Bashley, 11am).

Sunday, April 22 – Somerset 2nds (Taunton Vale, 11am).

Tuesday, July 3 – Somerset T20 (North Perrott, 5.30pm).

Unicorns T20

Sunday, May 6 – Wiltshire (Bashley, noon and 4pm).

Monday, May 7 – Devon (Sidmouth, noon and 4pm).

Sunday, May 27 – Wales (Wimborne, 12.30pm and 4.30pm).

Sunday, June 3 – Cornwall (St Austell, 12.30pm and 4.30pm).

Unicorns KO Trophy

Sunday, April 29 – Cornwall (North Perrott, 11am).

Sunday, May 20 – Berkshire v Dorset or Cornwall.

Unicorns Championship

Sun-Tues, June 24-26 – Wiltshire (Sherborne School, 11am).

Sun-Tues, July 8-10 – Oxfordshire (Banbury, 11am).

Sun-Tues, July 22-24 – Cheshire (Nantwich, 11am).

Sun-Tues, Aug 5-7 – Shropshire (Bournemouth, 11am).

Sun-Tues, Aug 19-21 – Devon (Sidmouth, 11am).

Sun-Tues, Sept 2-4 – Berkshire (North Perrott, 10.30am).


Saturday 28 April Dorset League XI (Wimborne, 11am).

Thursday 31 May MCC (Dorchester, 11am).

Sunday 10 June Wiltshire (Swanage, 11am).

Sunday 15 July Devon Lions (Hamworthy Rec, 11am).

Sunday 26 Aug Gloucestershire Academy (North Perrott, 11am).