AN intriguing contest at Boscombe Cliff resulted in the reigning Section One champions Poole Park edging the match 10-4 (78-75).

Cliff’s best effort came from Alan Geary’s quartet (23-17), whereas Dolphins’ match-winning contribution came from Jim Garner, Mike Jones, Pat Ravelin and Alec MacKenzie (25-18).

Knyveton Gardens remain Cliff’s closest challengers following their 12-2 win over Ringwood. Reg Davis, Trevor Smith, Eric Sole and John Kellow (29-14) topped the Gardeners’ rinks. Dave Hart’s squad recovered from an 18-15 deficit to win 24-20. Ringwood’s sole success came from Mark Brockinbank (18-14).

Southbourne returned to winning form with a 12-2 (85-67) victory over Bournemouth. Gerry Potts’s last-end 23-21 win denied Southbourne a full quota. Chris Dowding converted one down to five up to win 22-16, while Brian Sadler, Bill Smith, Dave McKenna and Brian Jones (21-12) claimed top honours for the Towermen.

Alexandra Park’s revival continued with an 11-3 win at Branksome Park. Despite collecting a ‘hot shot,’ Paul Tidby had to settle for a 23-23 tie. The Squirrels’ only other success came from Barry Stone’s quartet (19-13). Top honours for Alex went to David Baxter, Eric Simon, Richard Cake and Steve Chalker (21-10).

The basement battle between Lymington and West Moors finished as a 79-72 home win for the Lymos. Moors’ John Niblock (27-19) fought a losing battle to cover Lymo’s three winning rinks, the best being Graham Morgan, Ian Brown, Geoff Napes and Ken Streek (19-12).

New Milton remain top of Section Two after surviving a close encounter with third-placed Broadstone-Wessex. The top return for the Wessex men came from Chris Howard (22-14). However, the 27-14 win by Stan Bolding, Don Shields, Ken Wright and Bob Burns proved crucial as Milton ran out 10-4 (76-74) winners.

Fordingbridge suffered a third consecutive defeat and appear to have blown their promotion aspirations. This week’s conquerors were second-placed Southbourne who clocked up a 12-2 (85-69) victory. The main contributors were Derek Painter, Keith Aldridge, Barry Zabell and Alan Bliss (24-12).

Wimborne collected all 14 points on offer at Kings Park. Eddie Hawkins, Doug Smith, Keith Gentry and Chris Nappin (26-11) were at the forefront in Wimborne’s 95-58 triumph.

Another maximum was achieved by Swanmore who handed out a 100-52 thrashing to Boscombe Cliff A. Top flight for the Swans were John Pocknell, Mike Pearson, Ray Hayes and Tony Norte (25-4).

Electric powered up for a 12-2 win at Pelhams. But it went to the wire as John Watts’ quartet tuned in with a 31-13 winning tally, which failed by just one shot (83-82) to cover Sparkies’ three successful rinks, best of which was Ray Cooke’s crew (25-14).

• Dislodged leaders Braeside shared rinks at Highcliffe, but a mammoth 30-8 return from Highcliffe’s Colin Bridgewater, Laurie Cook, Graham Stride and David Vincent guided the Castlemen to an 83-69 triumph in Section Three.

Poole Park A regained the leadership with a 12-2 victory over Redhill Park. Terry Horgan (20-15) salvaged two points for the Rangers. Dennis Fletcher’s squad of Dave Pearce, Peter Martin and John Potter (26-17) shaped the Dolphins’ 80-64 win.

Knyveton Gardens A failed to cope with the artificial surface against Braeside A whose skips Bob Carpenter (25-15) and Alan Watts (23-13) shared the honours in the Carpetbaggers’ 86-66 win.

Richmond Park could only muster eight points when overcoming bottom club Moordown 85-82. HQ’s combo of John McAuslene, Graham Shoots and Dave Snow (36-11) covered Moordown’s three winning rinks.

Iford Bridge collected 12 valuable points at West Moors. Chris Quick, Colin Rattue, Roger Lawrence and Colin Lakey (29-10) underpinned Bridge’s 95-66 win. Moors’ solo response came from Ray Brinsden (20-18).

• Branksome Park A extended their lead in Section Four by overturning their nearest rivals Argyll 10-4. Argyll skips John Roberts (24-23) and Brian Oliver (19-18) denied the Squirrels a full sweep after Chris Harding, Bryan Morgan, Peter Dixon and Joe Staddon (26-16) put Branksome on course for a 90-74 victory.

Third-placed Wimborne unexpectedly lost 14-0 at home to Poole Park B. The biggest contribution to the Dolphins’ 91-58 win came from Mick Wallis, Maurice Bower, Adrian Dicker and Ron Newbury (25-13).

Christchurch dropped back into the basement when losing 13-1 at home to Milford-on-Sea. Priory skip Michael Poore (20-20) denied Milford maximum points. However, three successful rinks spearheaded by Brian Appleby, Ron West, David Hall and Rod Somerton (24-18) saw the Seasiders win 86-73.

Ferndown stay bottom following their 12-2 defeat by visitors New Milton A. Bill Eustace, Richard Wilson, Norman Newby and Mick Akerman (26-16) featured in Milton’s 79-74 win.

• Southbourne B strengthened their hold at the top of Section Five with a 67-66 victory at Redhill Park. Brian Openshaw (22-9) put up stiff resistance for the Rangers, but failed by one shot to cover Southbourne’s three winning rinks, the best being John May, Gil Webb, Tom Walker and Dennis Cutler (23-16).

Broadstone-Wessex collected 10 points from their 79-77 win over Lymington A. Alistair Swadel, Bernard Sturgess, Malcolm Peters and Alan Godwin (33-22) landed the killer punch.

Highcliffe closed in on the leaders with a 12-2 win at Knyveton Gardens. Ron Hazell’s cluster (20-11) and Ernie Thorne’s rink (23-14) shared the glory as the Castlemen won through 81-61.

Boscombe Cliff B managed just two points from their encounter at Ringwood. John Hardy, Richard Blackiston, Jim Sillitoe and Mick Miller (26-10) ground the Cliff to a 90-64 defeat.

• Section Six leaders Branksome Park B lost their mantle after losing 12-2 at home to Swanmore A. An impressive 32-9 win from John Woollcott’s squad was overhauled by Swans’ three winning rinks, the best being Peter Bunce, Derek Ireson, Alan Leggatt and Ron Prigg 26-11.

Argyll A went top after overcoming Richmond Park A 87-61. The Cliff Dwellers won on all four rinks, the top of which was Alan Godfrey, Eddie Wiles, Geoff Halstead and Rod Thomas (27-15).

Ferndown A remained in fourth after returning with 12 points from Iford Bridge. Len Hughes, Sean Morrisey, Ian Banks and Paul Hallett (21-14) laid the foundations for the Stags’ 75-65 win.

Poole Park C moved out of the bottom two after their 12-2 (74-62) success over Wimborne B. Top pod for the Dolphins was Arthur Grimbaldston, Keith Sims, Mike Chadwick and Bob Wilson (31-9).

Southbourne C stayed bottom despite collecting 12 points from their 88-65 win over Kings Park.

Wilf Hulland, Ken Garard, Rod Pearce and Larry Cox (25-13) took the top prize for Southbourne.