POOLE Cycle Speedway Club were crowned British champions for the first time in five years following a tense three-day battle.

At Newport, Wales, the under-14 side picked up the silver medal after getting the better of arch-rivals Ipswich.

The Dorset club were also involved in another tight contest in the under-18 event, eventually finishing fourth behind winners Sheffield. The under-12s ended a creditable fourth in their section.

Harbourside Park was the venue for the second round, with the hosts' under-16 girls beating Leicester and Ipswich to take the win.

However, Leicester continued their dominance of the women's event, racing to an easy success to lift the title for the 12th straight season.

Leicester also took a well deserved victory in the British veterans' division. Poole struggled to stay on the pace but a fourth-place effort kept the club in contention for silverware.

Poole held a two-point lead over Ipswich heading into the final round at Oxford.

The under-16s provided a fine win which opened a clear gap ahead of their Suffolk rivals, who ended up a distant fifth.

Poole sealed the title in the senior final, in which they finished third.


Newport, Little League: Poole A 54 – Kenzie Bennett 15 Scott Rowles 14 Oliver Saunders 14 Daisy Sherwood 11. Poole B 39 – Logan Bennett 11 Max Parry 11 Natalie Goulden 11 Forest Rogers 6.

Under-12 final: Poole 27 Josh Nottle 9 Feroze Langoo 8 Mac Briggs 5 Izzy Byrne 5.

Under-14 final: Poole 43 – Nathan Goulden 15 Maddie Saunders 13 Anna Tuttle 8 Feroze Langoo 4 Josh Nottle 3.

Under-18 final: Poole 41 – Fraser Garnett 11 Callum Smith 11 Ben Tinsdale 11 Macie Schmidt 8.

Poole, under-16 girls: Poole 55 – Macie Schmidt 16, Maddie Saunders 16, Beth Briggs 12, Anna Tuttle 11.

Women: Poole 38 – Macie Schmidt 15, Maddie Saunders 9, Kristina Mines 7, Beth Briggs 4, Anna Tuttle 3.

Senior: Poole 35 – Pete Chant 10, Rob Haywood 9, Colin Byrne 9, Colin Rowles 7.

Oxford, under-16 final: Poole 51 – Ben Tinsdale 15 Fraser Garnett 13 Danny Byrne 12 Callum Smith 11.

Senior: Poole 38 – Will Bristowe 11 Jay Briggs 7 Ben Tinsdale 7 Callum Smith 7 Dean Hook 6.