POOLE’S Chris Parsons toppled three records on his way to six gold medals as the club almost doubled its 2013 points tally in the Dorset Development Meet.

The 14-year-old set new competition best times (CBTs) in the 14yrs 50 and 100m butterfly (30.92 and 1:08.17) and the 200m individual medley (IM) in 2:32.17 at Littledown. He also won the 100m backstroke, 200m breaststroke and 200m freestyle.

Parsons’s tally contributed to a Poole points tally of 1,246 enabling them to leapfrog Seagulls into second place and close the gap to top club Swim Bournemouth from over 1,000 last year to 360.

Poole junior coach Jan Hutchings said: “I’m really proud of this achievement. This meet is structured to show progress and improvement and these results show our strategy to develop swimmers is working.”

Jasmin Oliver-House struck gold five times, set a CBT in the 15yrs 100m butterfly and received the day one fastest swimmer award. Her other wins came in the 50, 100 and 200m freestyle and 200m breaststroke.

Morgan Hiles’s four wins came in the 11yrs 100 and 200m backstroke, 200m freestyle and 200m IM and he set a CBT of 1:19.32 in the 100m back.

Hemmings was a triple winner, taking the 9yrs 400m freestyle, 200m butterfly and 100m IM and setting a CBT of 3:39.53 in the fly.

Jasmine McCrea, Guy Selwood, Ryan Openshaw and William Longhurst each set one CBT.

McCrea set her record in the 12yrs 50m butterfly (34.60) and also won the 50m backstroke.

Selwood won the 11yrs 50m backstroke in a record time of 37.04 and the 400m freestyle.

Ryan Openshaw’s wins in the 9yrs 200m backstroke and 50m breaststroke included new figures for the breaststroke (49.42).

Longhurst won the 9yrs 200m breaststroke in record time.

Teagan Graham won medals and all four strokes, including a golden hat-trick in the 12yrs 100m freestyle, 100m breaststroke and 200m backstroke. Thea O’Keefe was a double winner in the 13yrs 50m butterfly and 200m back-stroke, while Matthew Cochrane won the backstroke skins knock-out competition.

Most improved swimmer awards went to Poole’s Finlay Webb (200m free), Allanah Smith-son and Lloyd Arnold (200m form strokes) and Emily Jeffries (IM).

Other Poole winners: 10yrs Heidi Taylor 50m free; Tiara Cheney 200m back; Leo McCrea S6 50m free. 11yrs Max Avery 100m free; Finlay Webb 100m breast. 12yrs Emmeline Ansell 100m breast; Lloyd Arnold 200m breast; Ben Sharland 13yrs 200m breast.

  • Ten-year-old Miles Ward was Seagulls’ star at Littledown as he won eight of his club’s 78 medals.

His personal tally include gold in the 100, 200 and 400m freestyle, 200m backstroke and 200m IM.

Nine-year-old Isaac Ellis set a CBT in his only event, winning the 9yrs 200m IM in 3:06.88.

Claire Williams won the most improved sprinter award after carving nine seconds off her PB in the 50m freestyle (36.11) while team-mates Alfie Gormley and Eve Peckham were the most improved 400m freestylers with respective times of 6:07.38 and 6:01.88 – PBs by 45 and 52 seconds.

Other Seagulls winners: 10yrs Annabelle Donaldson 100m breast; Eve Peckham 100m free. 11yrs Yasmin Bridet 200m IM. 12yrs Joe Noyce 50m fly; Abbie Peckham 100m back, 400m free. 13yrs Amy Mills 50m free; Abigail Richardson 50 & 100m back. 14yrs Abbie Noyce 50m free; Ellen Broadfield 100m breast; Robert Olliffe 200m back; Abigail Wales 50m fly. 15yrs Jasmine Glyde 50 & 200m back, 200m IM. 16-18yrs Ross Broadfield 50 & 100m breast.

  • Clayesmore’s Rebecca Holden won the fastest swim award on day two for her 100m freestyle time of 1:03.68.

She also won the girls’ backstroke skins.