HOT-SHOT Joseph Ramsey netted an extra-time winner to secure a cup double for Branksome United against top-flight leaders Greenfields at King George V Playing Fields.

Jason Turner struck first for Greenfields, before Drew Campbell levelled the scores within 60 seconds of the restart in an evenly-contested first half that finished 1-1.

Title-contenders Branksome twice edged in front twice during the second half with goals from David Price and Lewis Brook but each time they were pegged back.

Turner netted his second of the game to make it 2-2 before Tyrrell Sampson equali-sed to take the game into extra-time.

The game could have gone either way before Ramsey slammed in the winner from a cleared corner to secure the silverware.

Branksome, who won the Dorset Cup with a 1-0 win over Bridport last month, are still in with a shout of winning the title. They are three points behind Greenfields with four games in hand.

Joint-leaders Corfe Mullen, however, are three points clear of Branksome, having played just one extra game.

Jubilant Brank-some boss Andy Cherrett said: “It was a fantastic spectacle befitting of a cup final. Both teams had further chances (after Ramsey’s goal) but we managed to hang on.

“The never-say-die spirit of our lads never ceases to amaze me. All the management and coaches congratulate the lads on achieving an excellent double.”

Greenfields boss Phil Griffin paid tribute to his gallant losers, while praising the winners.

“The boys played well, but just came up short against a strong Branksome side,” said Griffin. “Despite having our fair share of chances, we were edged out in a good tight final.

“Well done to both teams for putting on a good show and congratulations to Branksome on their win.”

Branksome United under-14s: Jake Pointer, Harrison Kemp, Cameron Doe, Thomas Reynolds, Tom Cooper, David Price, Bradley Cherrett, Sam Merri-field, Louis Brooks, Joseph Ramsey, Drew Campbell, Callum Elsworth.

Greenfields under-14s: Billy Griffin, Isy Beaglehole, Will Stone, Jack Farrier-Ledden, Harry Salter, Sammy Tourh, Harrison Chamberlain, Tom Rose, Andy Dewey, Jordan Monks, Harry Watts, Jason Turner, Tyrrell Sampson, Josh Kirkham.

To view all pictures: