STEVE McQueen’s new film 12 Years A Slave (see the 24Seven review on page 7), starring Chiwetel Ejiofor, is an unflinching tale of Solomon Northup, a free man abducted and sold into slavery.

Much like the big-screen adaptation of Northup’s memoirs will leave you reeling, the soundtrack is a brilliant accompaniment.

The album’s executive producer, Grammy-winning crooner John Legend, has contributed two tracks here – Roll Jordan Roll (later sung by the cast) and Move, featuring Fink.

The songs here may be stripped down to its bare bones, but are full of spirit and soul such as Alabama Shakes’s Driva Man, Gary Clark Jr’s Freight Train, Alicia Keys’s Queen Of The Field (Patsey’s Song) and Laura Mvula’s (pictured) Little Girl Blue.

A well compiled and sobering collection of songs that will make you think.